Categorized | News

Tags :

Do you quit Facebook?

Posted on 15 May 2010

Every time Facebook has any update, people will concern about the privacy. After Facebook has announced Open Graph API in F8 Developer Conference, some people feel that  Facebook is  lack of respect for users’ data. Matthew Milan and Joseph Dee are the guys who revolt with Quit Facebook Day in 31 May 2010.

This is not the first time to have this revolt. Not sure if you remember one site called seppukoo.com. This site is anti-social network which offer users the ritual destruction of their virtual identities in Facebook complete with a customizable memorial page. However, because of some legal issue, this website has not provided service.

Right now, if you want to delete your Facebook account, you do not need to join any social network suicide machine. The following is the 2 simple step to delete your Facebook account:

1. Enter URL:  http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account when you have logged in.

2.  Enter your password & Captcha spam check and press “Okay” button.

Notice that do not login or connect with your Facebook account. You will receive an email saying that your account will be deleted in 14 days. At the end of 14 days, all of your posts, comments, info, photo, etc., will be permanently made inaccessible on Facebook.

Any action with the account during that period could prevent it from being deleted, so for 14 days:

  • do not try to login to your Facebook account; you may want to clear your browser cache and delete your cookies so that you don’t login inadvertently.
  • do not click the Facebook Share or Like button on any site you visit.
  • do not use Facebook Connect (like Digg.com and Tumblr.com, allow signup and login using Facebook Connect) to login to or signup on any site.

Leave a Reply

Get Adobe Flash player